Seeking

You know what is hard? Trying to find a church to call home out here. I didn’t grow up going to church very often, and my parents had me baptized 1) for WASPy cultural reasons and 2) so I’d have something to rebel against when I grew up. I think their plan backfired though because I like church, and have really struggled to find a place for B and me out in sunny SF. B is non-denominational, and is a little less impressed with organized religion than I am. I was baptized Episcopalian, but find myself more in tune with the Anglican Communion than the North American Episcopal church right now. Sadly, Episcopal churches in SF are pretty woo-woo, and so I miss my St. Andrew’s back east.

This has left me with the dilemma of where to go. B and I have been attending a Lutheran church a few miles away, but while the liturgy and gospel are great, it doesn’t feel like home culturally. Of course, we will be moving in a few years, so I guess that the whole problem will be solved (or at least changed) depending on where we end up after grad school.

This entry was posted in church. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeking

  1. Ma Torg says:

    You should forgo all familiarity and go Orthodox! HA HA!

Leave a Reply

