To Caffeinate or Not to Caffeinate

I always face a quandry on long afternoons after a busy morning. To drink black tea and get more work done, or to stick it out and be able to fall asleep easily? Studies have shown that a nap is better than caffeine for productivity (Tufts Health and Nutrition newsletter), but sometimes a nap is not an option (and believe me–I take naps whenever and wherever I can). So if I’m working at the library, as I am now on Friday afternoon after teaching 4 hours straight, do I drink more tea with caffeine, or just sit and stare stupidly at my reading?

The solution is to do work that doesn’t require the intense concentration of reading. I was hoping to enjoy translating some Latin, but my homework for next week isn’t posted yet. I know because I have the site up and keep hitting refresh. Perhaps I could bring my knitting? Or I could write a rambling blog post… Too bad I can’t go into the cold room and take a nap.

This entry was posted in black tea, caffeine, naps. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Caffeinate or Not to Caffeinate

  1. Pa Torg says:

    hahaha. I like that this got both “black tea” AND “caffeine” labels. The first time I read this, I did not make the association with Robbins and thought, where in the world is Kate that she has a “cold room”! Just make sure not to snuggle up to a book with mold or red rot. On your last post, you should just focus on the theme that you like in history (yours seems to be how “ethics” plays out) and I’ll bet as you read sources more topics will show up than you know what to do with.

Leave a Reply

