I Want One

So I’ve wanted an iPhone for a while, mostly just because they are cute, trendy, and all my friends in NYC have them. But I have made a discovery that makes me really want one: you can buy (for only $1.99) an app for the iPhone of the entire Lewis & Short Latin Dictionary. The whole thing, on your phone. This post is really only for the Latin nerds out there (salve BCS and PaTorg!), but to give those of you who don’t regularly consult Lewis & Short an idea of why this is so exciting, I once weighed my copy on the bathroom scale, and it clocks in at just over 6 lbs–so not something you can whip out of your purse for consultation during a Latin emergency (of which there are more than you might think–double datives and asyndeton are everywhere!).

So now I want an iPhone so I can have my favorite (heavy) Latin dictionary always at my fingertips. (And yes, you can also get the Greek Lexicon, but it’s a bit more spendy at $2.99). Now I just have to figure out how to pay for the darn thing.

This entry was posted in iPhone, Latin, Lewis and Short Latin Dictionary. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Want One

  1. Pa Torg says:

    It is not a good thing for the bank account that I now know about this … total dictionar-itude for $5?!?!?

  2. junior says:

    Instead you should get one of these….www.raincitystory.com/flash/screenclean.swf

  3. Meredith says:

    Evil Twin is willing to propose a trade of your Nano for an IPod Touch, which is pretty much the IPhone without the phone – you can download all the apps. Then again, I’m not sure he gets the whole *wanting one* thing that we tend to do!

  4. Oh wow, now I want one. Carting that thing around Europe isn’t fun.

Leave a Reply

