Knowing There’s a Light at the End of the Tunnel

As I mentioned on Facebook the other day, it’s a heck of a lot more fun to *be* in shape than to *get* in shape. Sadly, despite my champion napping abilities, the life of a couch potato is not for me. Therefore I have no choice but to get back in shape after a year and a half of forced inactivity (except climbing over that fence to go read Thomas Aquinas at the ruins of his family’s castle and having people hand my crutches over after me. but I digress.)

I took a pilates class this Sunday (it was tons of fun, I totally recommend it to anyone and everyone), and have signed up for more. I have been running 3 miles every other day for almost two weeks now. I am doing my physical therapy exercises at home when not torturing my PT guy over at school in person. B and I are eating pretty healthily. All this is to say that my Lulu Lemon yoga pants look hot on me.

No, really what it says to me is that even though I can’t *see* the light at the end of the tunnel (being pain free and back in great shape), I now realize it is out there. Someday I *will* be better, and back to my old self. Even though I am not there yet, I know that I will be. Someday. Hopefully sooner rather than later. Because I am an impatient sort of person (just ask my PT guy. He gets to listen to me whine. I’ve already scared one back to Cleveland.)

This entry was posted in accident, physical therapy, pilates, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knowing There’s a Light at the End of the Tunnel

  1. u says:

    You will. You definitely will. It's frustratingly slow after injury (just ask your husband!), but you're a real athlete, and made of tough stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

