Gearing Up

It’s almost Thanksgiving! I’m so excited!! We are hosting the Torgs and Barry’sTea and Actuary–so 6 adults and 3 kids. I *love* hosting parties, and since Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday (food-wise), I am rather beside myself with Anticipation. B and I went out and got our free-range turkey today (18 lbs, do you think it’ll be enough??), along with a giant bag of potatoes, heavy cream, more butter than should be legal, and stuffing.

A word about stuffing. I have a dark and dirty secret: I love Pepperidge Farm herb stuffing. It’s so embarassing. I bake bread, I make soup from scratch, I make jam… and I love stuffing from a bag?? I mean, we add onion and celery (and butter, of course), but still. This is even worse because B’s family always makes their stuffing from scratch. And it’s good, don’t get me wrong. But there’s something about that Pepperidge Farm herb stuffing that I just can’t do without. So this year, I summoned up my most adorable guilty expression, and told B that I wanted stuffing from a bag. He was very sweet about it, if puzzled, and only teased me a little bit.

The Torgs (read: MaTorg) are bringing half the meal, and I was never so relieved as when I discovered that their tastes is Thanksgiving food matched ours. What would I have done if she had added Jello salad to the list, or marshmallow sweet potato stuff?? (I’ve never seen these things, but have been assured that they exist–mostly in the midwest). I’m currently trying to decide if we should have a tablecloth, or just place mats. I wish I had all my pretty china and silver out here, but will try to resign myself by remembering that everything will be covered in delicious food, so no one will know if I’m using my best china or my every-day china. And the candles in pretty pewter candlesticks will add a certain whatsit to the meal (as will the champagne and wine brought by IrishTea and Actuary). As you can tell, I am quite excited. This blog was started because our last Thanksgiving meal turned out so tasty, and I look forward to celebrating the anniversary of it in style, with good friends.

This entry was posted in B, IrishTea, K, thanksgiving, Torgs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gearing Up

  1. Pa Torg says:

    The Pa side of the Torgs and Mr. B himself will contribute (as, perhaps, a pre-champagne apertif?) the item that required the most forethought, patience, love, care, and pouring-of-boiling-syrup-through-a-collander: the ne'er before tasted and ne'er to be repeated Mash Plop Porter.

  2. Ma Torg says:

    WHAT!? You meant 'greeeeeen' salad? Crud. I was totally going with orange jello and marshmallows.

  3. K says:

    Ma Torg: You are a fiend in human form. Pa Torg: looking forward to tasting the famous Mash Plop Porter…

  4. B says:

    I love the name "Mash Plop". However did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

