Captain Logic Traps Himself

Captain Logic did not triumph tonight. Lady Feeling got him. Ha! (This conversation was prompted by a House episode where there’s a genius with a wife less smart than he is):

K: That’s like us!
B: What? Why?
K: Because you’re smarter than me.
B: No I’m not.
K: Yes you are. I am *positive* that if we took an IQ test, yours would be higher than mine.
B: (silence).
K: Have you *seen* an IQ test? It asks about all sorts of things I’m terrible at.
B: Well then it doesn’t measure overall intelligence. You’re very smart.
K: Right, but not as smart as you.
(pause)
K: Do you think you are dumber than me? (with a piercing look so he doesn’t lie)
B: No.
K: Do you think we are the same?
B: You can do lots of things that I am terrible at, like remembering everything…
K: Dogs can remember where sh** is. That doesn’t take intelligence.
B: (stumped and getting nervous) This is a stupid discussion.

To sum up: I trapped him by his own logic (or at least, that’s how I am interpreting the result of this conversation). Triumph! (In case anyone is worried, I know I am intelligent, don’t worry. I also think I do lots of things better than B (like blog), I just happen to think he’s rather brighter than the average bear (and not just because I’m married to him)). And now that I’ve taken care of all those parenthetical expressions, I’m off to check my blood sugar before bed.

This entry was posted in B, IQ, K, logic. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Captain Logic Traps Himself

  1. B says:

    You trapped me by my own logic! Case closed. Now stop chortling.

  2. mustang says:

    No comment on this one. šŸ™‚

  3. Sandra says:

    this made me laugh out loud. then i read it to W, and he laughed out loud too šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

