Sucker Hole

For those of you unfamiliar with the concept, a sucker hole is that brief period of blue sky that lures one outside completely unprepared for what is about to happen. K had to head over at campus today, and since we had a brief respite from the rain that has been plaguing the region recently, I decided to head down to GP center with her to grab a bite before she got on BART. It was breezy and chilly, but nice, so I headed out coatless, snickering to myself quietly when observing everyone wearing their winter coats. After lunch, K left and I went to grab some coffee at out local coffee shop and to do a little reading.

I looked up, and the rain was coming down hard. After five minutes or so, it tapered off almost completely, and so I ventured out to walk home. BIG mistake. Before I even crossed the intersection, the rain began again in earnest. By the time I rounded the corner, the rain was a torrential downpour. Two minutes later, the lightning and thunder arrived, close enough to make me jump out of my skin. The wind was direct from the west, whipping the rain into my face. It was the hail that really began to piss me off. I began running despite the fact I am not allowed to run (knee) for another month, then quickly had to walk again when the sleet began to accumulate and make the sidewalk too slippery to risk it. By the time I arrived at home, bedraggled and miserable, I could not have been wetter if I had jumped into the bay. Never was there a sucker such as I.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sucker Hole

Leave a Reply

