Utility Through Blogs

I’m going to go ahead and tread all over B’s academic territory and talk about Utility. Specifically, utility and blogs. At the heart of this issue is why we blog. I blog mostly to amuse myself, and hopefully my readers (hi Mom!). Other people blog to keep far-distant family and friends up-to-date on their lives. Some blog to rant. But one thing we all have in common is that we assume that our readers get some utility out of reading our blogs. Here comes the tricky part: I am willing to bet that most people think their blog gives people more Utility/Enjoyment/Amusement than it really does.

That’s right. I think we are a bunch of conceited donkeys who blithely blog believing we’re giving people something they want. I am guilty as hell. For example, even as I wrote this, I thought, “Oh, sometimes I’m sure people don’t care about what I post, but our blog really is funnier than a lot of ones I read.” (And no, I am not stupid enough to name names–either on the funny or the boring end of the spectrum. If you are desperately curious, I will whisper them to you after you buy me several drinks.) And now, I’d better go before I use up all my readers’ good-will and abuse any more economics/marketing terms. (Apologies B!)

This entry was posted in blogging, conceit, utility. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Utility Through Blogs

  1. Ma Torg says:

    Well, I guess then we shall assume that when blog-life is inactive, then you (and I!) are having trouble amusing ourselves.Very sad thought.

  2. K says:

    Or we could assume that we're amusing ourselves, but not in ways we wish to share over the internet?? Much happier thought…

  3. Sandra says:

    fwiw, your blog *IS* a lot funnier than a lot of the other ones I read! =D

Leave a Reply

