Constant Struggle

It’s during events like the SuperBowl (which, by the way, B is *extremely* happy not to be watching with Mustang–he still hasn’t forgiven her for asking him why he was watching “this stupid game” while he was cheering on his beloved Pats to victory–the joy of mothers-in-law) that diabetes really stinks. I mean, it stinks all the time, don’t get me wrong, but on days when what you want to be doing is drinking a couple of beers, eating chips and other heavily-carbed tasty treats, it *really* stinks. I hate trying to keep my bloodsugar under control. I hate that I can’t eat even a handful of chips without sending it up (despite careful carb-counting and bolusing). It just makes me *mad*. And then, when despite my best efforts, the numbers creep up anyways (even on days without carb-temptations like today), it makes me hate myself. I have to admit: I am *tired* of the struggle. I am tired.

This entry was posted in diabetes, K, SuperBowl. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Constant Struggle

  1. Ma Torg says:

    I'm so sorry, K. I wish I could do the struggling for you a bit.I say next year, we can band together and make some mean diabetic friendly superbowl snacks. That or ditch the boys and gorge on souffles.

  2. junior says:

    I wish I could do the struggling for you, too. I love you, dear sister.

  3. K says:

    Thanks MaTorg and Junior, it helps to hear that. I'm hoping that today will be better (after a bad night of lows and highs). I think one of the things that pisses me off is that it is always a moving target–the same food can do entirely different things to your sugars one day to the next–thus making you feel like an idiot.

  4. K says:

    PS, perhaps souffles AS the superbowl snacks??

  5. Sandra says:

    I can't begin to know how difficult and frustrating it is, but i'm so sorry =( I hope today is better too! lots of hugs.

  6. Ma Torg says:

    Superbowl and Souffles?! Wowsa! That might just get me to watch a game!

Leave a Reply

