K’s Miscellany

1. Having the flu is a great way to lose 5 lbs. in 10 hours. Half-fainting from dehydration is a great way to get a big scrape on your arm when you fall against the cabinets.

2. I can’t help feeling like something bad is going to happen to either me or B (or both) as we approach the two-year mark of the accident (March 20). While this is not rational, it is very real. I’m suspicious of all vehicles, bicycles, skateboards, and even pedestrians talking loudly. I like a nice BIG safety bubble around me, and get twitchy and nervous when people walk too close to me. This makes commuting really fun. But we leave Thursday for Sanibel, so hopefully I will be able to wait out the anniversary in comparative peace.

3. As a reaction to #2, I have been re-reading comfort books: Anne of Green Gables, Swallowdale (WHY didn’t Arthur Ransome survive to finish his 13th Swallows and Amazons novel??!?!), and various Josephine Tey novels. I think Georgette Heyer might be next.

4. I have almost finished my second pair of socks (this time for me!), the only bits left are the ribbing of the cuff and binding them off. I am *quite* pleased with myself, particularly because I did the heels with no (major) mistakes this time. Do you know why I wanted to learn to knit socks? Because Anne and Rilla and Susan do in Rilla of Ingleside. Rilla decides to man up in the face of WWI and learn to knit the heels of her socks, since before Anne or Susan were doing it for her. I am not knitting grey wool socks for soldiers in the trenches, but I still get a thrill when I turn the heel and think of Anne of Green Gables. Take That, Kaiser.

5. What I ought to be doing today is grading midterms, which while not fun, is necessary. So on that note, I will leave you.

This entry was posted in Anne of Green Gables, flu, K, random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

