Boooooooo! (and a Special Snowflake)

You see before you (or: read before you?) a very grumpy K. B leaves again in the morning for 10 days. Booooooo! I was so excited he was getting home Friday and staying until Monday that I forgot to get the book out of my office that I am supposed to teach tomorrow. Oops. Looks like I might be the Special Snowflake this week… Good thing I’ve taught the Persian Wars before. (Of course, I don’t really remember doing it, but I know it happened–and I have until noon tomorrow to get my act together.) But I digress. The *point* is that I am grumpy, and B is leaving again. It is of no comfort whatsoever to me that he will get to see his whole family, and give a job talk at our alma mater. You know why? BECAUSE I’M NOT GOING TOO. So poo on all of you.

Yours in far-from-gruntlement,
K

PS, speaking of Special Snowflakes, here’s a true story from BCS (who doesn’t have her own blog to share this on) about her seminar a few weeks ago:
BCS: Montecassino was a powerful monastery in the 12th century…
SS (Special Snowflake): Too bad about what happened to it during the war. (it was bombed by the Americans because the Germans were using it as HQ).
BCS: Yes. Now, as we can see in–
SS: My grandfather was killed there.
BCS: Oh, ummm, that’s too bad.
SS: Nah, he was a Nazi.
BCS: Errrr… so the 12th century…
SS: He raped my grandmother.
BCS: (stunned silence)
SS: (with great cheer) So that’s where I come from.
BCS: (thinking: well sh**, how do you bring a discussion back from that?!!?)

Thank you students, for making our lives more interesting.

This entry was posted in B, disgruntlement, K, Special Snowflake. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boooooooo! (and a Special Snowflake)

  1. GardenGal says:

    I say boo to you not coming too. I miss you!

Leave a Reply

