The Decision

What am I going to do? I did not expect the difficulties that would come with taking care of a newborn while simultaneously handling the job search process. I did cancel two potential flyouts to stay home and now am in the tough position of choosing between schools. One top school is in a city where I never thought I would live, the other in a beautiful place which would not be as good professionally, and two others which I really liked seem to be holding back offers potentially because they are convinced I will chose the first option. I have no clue what to do, and trying to figure it out while completely distracted by the little one is next to impossible. I know this decision is going to affect us all for a long time and I feel incapable of making a choice. Oh, and I have no clue how I am going to finish my dissertation either. Maybe I should figure it out during a one hour ESPN special.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Decision

  1. Ma Torg says:

    Could you possibly contact those two schools and mention how much you liked them? Or have your advisor do so??? I personally think you should blow choice #1. It sounds like it could be too much stress on family life, imho. But then I'm biased against that city.

  2. K says:

    I am not helping at all, because I too have no idea what we should do.

  3. GardenGal says:

    I vote for a hot shower and a nap. As a therapist, I can say that you're never supposed to make a big decision in the midst of stress. Since you don't have that luxury, get as much rest as you can, and know that there's no *right* decision… which means there's no *wrong* decision. That's my two cents, which you didn't ask for, but I'm giving you anyway!

Leave a Reply

