Pout-Pout Fish

My long silence can be attributed to my being a Pout-Pout Fish about our move. I exhibit strong state-dependence (according to my econ-lingoist husband). I know Gotham is the caput mundi. I know there are good bookstores and nap times and tea-and-scone places. I know. I know there are good OBs, and good endocrinologists, and good doctors of every variety that I might need. I know it will be easy for people to visit us there. I like all my family that lives there. In fact, I more than like them. I know I will have a marvelous time taking my pretentious stroller out for walks and being thin and pretty and a young mother in Gotham. I know that half of my good friends have already left Bear-Town for good, and the other half will be gone soon. I know.

And, there are many many things I will not miss about Bear-Town: the weird hippies who animadvert on my sunglasses (which, for their information were less than $10 at Walgreens), the trustifarians, the pathetic excuse for funding a public school can offer…

But it’s MINE, and I hate change.

That said, I am getting kind of excited. And luckily, the Fiend will be able to say airily to any pretentious little sh*ts he meets: “Oh, the first restaurant my parents took me to was Chez Panisse–the fresh ingredients you can get in the Bay Area make all the difference…” AG (abrupt giggle).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pout-Pout Fish

  1. Sandra says:

    which uppababy do you have? =) and love the chez panisse comment – hahaha. but it's so true! our friends who love to cook moved to NYC a few years ago and complain about the lack of good/fresh/local ingredients all the time. =)

  2. K says:

    The Vista–we Love it!!

Leave a Reply

