Resolutions

Studies show that people who write down their resolutions are more likely to keep them. B is a total kill-joy and points out that it probably isn’t causal, but rather that people who are the type to write out new year’s resolutions are the same type to keep them. Whatever B. I like to think it’s causal, and writing them down will therefore mean I keep them. So it’s practically like they are already all done! Yay!

So here we go:

1) Get fit again. (before any of my friends/relations who have had to lose baby weight jump on me, let me point out that thin and fit are not the same thing. also, the ginger crinkle cookies I made last week are not helping the thin thing either…) Plus, I’m moving to Gotham–the place where breastfeeding is pushed on billboards because it helps you lose weight. Dear God.

2) Either finish my papers and take orals or get the f*ck out of academia. One of the other. There have been good reasons for the delays (getting hit by an SUV, thyroid cancer, PTSD, a new baby, etc.), but when it comes right down to it, I either need to buckle the hell down, or get out and do something else. There are pros and cons to both paths. (wait, are these paths in a wood? which one is less traveled? do I want the one less traveled? dang. the angst.)

3) Be slightly more helpful around the house. Don’t worry, this leopard isn’t changing her spots–I’m still domestically disabled–but during the gestation of the Fiend, B was stuck with all the cooking and almost all the housework. He needs to finish his dissertation so I am going to try and be a little more helpful with things like cooking dinner, and maybe even doing some dishes. I don’t want to rush into anything though.

4) Keep my A1c 6.5% or below. I was expecting to be more burnt out on diabetes management after the pregnancy, but so far I am still obsessively checking my blood glucose. The thing I am beyond burnt out about is writing down everything I eat and all the doses of insulin. So for now, I am kissing spreadsheets filled with things like “3 Tbs peanutbutter, 1 cup tea” goodbye.

I think that’s all. This list in no way reflects what other people might be hoping I will do this coming year. Too bad for them!

PS, B would like to give a brief summary of his resolutions (hedging your bets, are you dear??): lose 20 pounds by the end of March, continue back rehab (as opposed to waiting until it feels the least bit better and then getting too frisky and re-injuring it), and learning to balance work and family while finishing the PhD (how hard can that be for a competitive perfectionist?). (note–all parenthetical asides brought to you by the letter K.)

This entry was posted in academia, B, diabetes, K, New Year's Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolutions

  1. u says:

    Actually, I'm pretty sure it's causal. (The writing things down, then more likely to pursue them.) Because if you *tell* people to write a goal down, regardless of individual differences, then they are more likely to make progress towards or acheive that goal. Science has said so. Also, if you want to put your money where your mouth is (literally) there are websites where you can "bet" on yourself and your goals. If you lose, your money gets donated to charity.

  2. B says:

    Despite K's claims, I did say it may not be causal, not that it probably isn't causal. Good to have an expert weigh in.

Leave a Reply

