The Fiend Strikes Again

The morning sickness might be over, but the Fiend has struck again. You may want to sit down before reading any further. And take a deep breath. Maybe two. Are you ready? Are you sure? Here it is:

I have lost my ability to nap.

I know. That legendary, glorious ability for which I am internationally recognized. I know what you’re thinking: she has a new baby, of course she isn’t napping! But it’s not that. I mean, yes, the presence of our little Bundle of Joy has severely curtailed the available time I have for napping–one of life’s great activities, incidentally. But when I get a chance to return to my glorious naps, they just. . . elude me.

I can’t turn off my super-sonic hearing or my less-than-sharp thinking (Was that the baby? Did I leave enough milk out for B? What time is it? What is my blood sugar doing? When did I last pump? Am I letting B get enough work done? Am I pulling my weight with baby care?)

I am bereft. What is life without naps? (and it’s not like I’m not tired enough to want one; au contraire.)

In lieu of flowers, please send donations to “Nappers Without Borders”.

This entry was posted in K, naps, the Fiend. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Fiend Strikes Again

  1. GardenGal says:

    Please accept my most sincere condolences for your loss. I too am a nap widow and I miss them terribly. The super sonic baby hearing gets better (my heart no longer pounds when i wake up when he squeaks, for example), and I now mute the monitor at night. May your naps return!

Leave a Reply

