Booksbooksbooksbooks

People often ask me to recommend “good books” to them because “you read so much”. I once was curious just how much I read and so I wrote down all the books I read in one year. It was over 400. Admittedly, this was a year that I was working in a book store, was not married, was not a mother, and was not in grad school. However. That’s a lot of books. I thought it might be fun periodically to post about some books I love, and maybe some I dislike. (hint: if it was written by a pretentious white man from NYC who wears cashmere turtlenecks and is filled with man-pain, I probably hate it, and want to smack the author upside the head. There are more of them than there ought to be.)

Within the large and varied corpus of books I like, there are a few sub-categories. The most important is “If you don’t read this and love it, you are dead inside”, or IYDRTALIYADI. Books like Anne of Green Gables, Swallows and Amazons, Silver Snaffles, and The Ordinary Princess all fall into this category (it is mostly populated by children’s books). Another sub-category is “perfect for rainy days in front of the fire with tea and cookies” (PFRDIFOTFWTAC–perhaps I need better acronyms??) Examples of these books include Maisie Dobbs, Jane Eyre, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, the Harry Potter books (although they may get moved to IYDRTALIYADI, time will tell), The Mysterious Benedict Society, and the Lord of the Rings. Akin to this category is Oh My God, I need to be cheered up RIGHT NOW! (OMGINTBCURN!) which is populated by such delights as Pride and Prejudice, any of Georgette Heyer’s romances, The Blue Castle, and The Picts and the Martyrs.

I should admit at the outset that I dislike Dickens, Wuthering Heights, and Don DeLillo. You have been warned.

This entry was posted in books, K. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Booksbooksbooksbooks

  1. GardenGal says:

    Your literary expertise + my new Kindle = never having to think about what to read ever again!

Leave a Reply

