Waste of my Time

You know those medical things which are 99.99% probably not actually medical things? Like potential kidney problems from your type one diabetes and thyroid cancer from your…. previous thyroid cancer?  Yeah those.  I hate them.  I don’t hate them because I am particularly worried they will actually materialize.  I hate them because the miniscule chance that lab work or sonograms or whatever tests doctors think of next show something worrisome forces me to pay attention to them and they are a waste of my time.

I am a busy woman.  I have a young family, and a husband with a very busy job, and a real disinclination for housework that I try to fight against so no one has to call the CDC, and (as I may have mention a time or fifty) book revisions to finish.

I do not have time to worry about things that are almost certainly not going to happen.  As Mark Twain once said: “I’ve had a lot of trouble in my life, and most of it never happened.”  So when my endocrinologist called to tell me that the tests were inconclusive and not to worry, I tried to keep Mark’s wise words in mind (yeah, we’re on a first-name basis).  But even to spend time not worrying about it, meant I had to waste time thinking it all over.  So thanks for that.

The very reason that I keep my regularly scheduled appointments and do all my routine checkups, etc, etc, etc (ad nauseum), is precisely so I DON’T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THESE STUPID THINGS.  So thanks, labs that we will make sure to check again in three months (which is when we normally check on them anyway).

And finally, thanks for ruining my concentration during my only baby-free time to write today.  THANKS.

This entry was posted in cancer, diabetes, doctors, K, thyroid, time, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

